CHALLENGE BATHURST will return to the Mount Panorama circuit next November following a record-breaking year in 2017.

Event Organisers have confirmed 15-18 November for the 2018 event following a near sell-out this year.

422 competitors entered this year, comprising 158 in the two-day sprint competition and 264 in the regularity held across the weekend.

Though some competitors cross entered in several classes, the final entry fell just short of the 435 capacity for the Event – highlighting the enormous demand for access to Mount Panorama.

While wet weather played a role in two of the four days, competitors preserved through the challenging conditions to maximise their chance to conquer the Mountain with many competitors reporting personal best times in each category.

The fastest time of the Sprint Event was set by the Trofeo Motorsport Lamborghini Hurracan GT3, shared by car owner Jim Manolios, Dean Canto and Ryan Millier – who used the event as an opportunity to test for February’s Bathurst 12 Hour.

Their car’s 2m05.593s lap was set by Canto, while Manolios explained the event was important for the team’s 12-hour preparations.

“You can test anywhere in Australia but there’s nothing like getting laps at Mount Panorama,” he said.

“We’ve been testing new setups for the car that we intend to use next February and for us it has been invaluable.”

In just two years of operation the Event has secured itself as a staple of the Bathurst Events calendar.

“The outstanding response from competitors has helped establish the event in it’s current slot on the calendar,” Event Director James O’Brien said.

“Despite some challenging conditions a great weekend was had this year with lots of personal bests recorded and great, friendly competition amongst the SuperSprint and Regularity competitors throughout the weekend.

“The Event will return across the same November weekend next year and plans are already underway to improve and grow it moving forward.”

Dates for the 2018 Challenge Bathurst event are 15-18 November, 2018.



Supersprint (Class Results)
A – Bruce Hibbard (Porsche 911) 2m24.83
B – David Godber (Porsche 996) 2m17.91
F – Jim Manolios (Lamborghini Hurracan) 2m05.593
G – Justin Kinchington (Nissan GTR) 2m24.785
H – David Murphy (Falcon) 2m20.155
I – Drew Hall (Nissan GTR) 2m16.189
K – Neil Brookes (HSV Clubsport) 2m29.168